Western Pennsylvania Toyota Dealers Service Logo

2018 Toyota Tacoma

The 2018 Toyota Tacoma

The 2018 Toyota Tacoma is the most popular model in the brand’s lineup. It is also one of the top selling midsized trucks of all time. It has earned its reputation for performance and reliability, and high market demand for used Tacomas ensures that owners reclaim plenty of value when it comes time to sell their old trucks.

About the Tacoma

Truck buyers demand variety, and Toyota delivers. The Tacoma is available in seven different trim levels: SR, SR5, TRD, TRD Sport, TRD Off-Road, Limited, and TRD Pro. Buyers can select from two different bed and cab sizes as well. There are two different engines, and the rear wheel drive train can be upgraded to four-wheel drive.

The basic four-cylinder engine is standard on the work level SR model. This engine produces 180 horse power, and it is adequate with the 6-speed automatic transmission. Most buyers choose to install the more powerful 3.5 liter V6. This engine puts out 278 horse power and 252 foot pounds of torque and is more suitable for towing.

Toyota has a range of standard features and upgrades that make the Tacoma customizable. The Entune infotainment system is equipped on most trim levels and is available as an option on even the base model as well. This system includes a 6.1 inch touch screen display and pairs with a smartphone. Other creature comforts include keyless entry, cruise control, steering wheel controls, and USB ports.

Dedicated to improving safety for all vehicles in its lineup, Toyota now includes traction control, and antilock brakes with the Tacoma. Lane departure warning and collision detection systems are also available. In higher trim levels, buyers can select the automatic emergency braking, and adaptive cruise control.

Changes for 2018

The most exciting change for the Tacoma in 2018 is the inclusion of the TRD Off-Road package. This version of the pickup is regarded as one of the best performing four-wheel drive trucks on the market. It has an upgraded suspension system that features Fox internal bypass shocks, new springs with higher ride height, sports tuned exhaust, and a front skid plate.

The SR5 now has an updated appearance package that sets it apart from the base SR models. A power rear window is an available option for some trim levels with the double cab. The most expensive trim levels can also include other creature comforts like heated leather seats, back up sensors, and key fob recognition system.

Toyota supports all new vehicles with a comprehensive warranty for the first three years or 36,000 miles, and the powertrain is protected for five years or 60,000 miles. Unlike other manufacturers, Toyota also includes a two years or 25,000 mile maintenance warranty.


Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Get More Information